Berkshire Hathaway Web Site

May 3

Berkshire Hathaway Web Site

BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY INC.: Take a look at this Web site. It belongs to Warren Buffet’s company. He’s the second-richest man in the United States (the world?).

You’d think his site would be a bit more…professional? On one hand, this is refreshingly non-corporate. But on the other hand, it’s very…1995-ish.

Any thoughts on this?


Comments

by CT,   May 3, 2004 9:45 AM  

Now you know how he got to be so rich--he doesn't blow his money on website design!

It's not too atypical of other holding company websites, which is what Berkshire Hathaway is: The real action is at the companies BH owns like Geico etc. There's really not much of a story to tell on the holding company level. If you really want corporate detail, you can always look at their SEC filings.


by dz,   May 3, 2004 11:07 AM  

That was exactly what I was going to post, but CT beat me to it...

dz


by Tom Altman,   May 3, 2004 1:07 PM  

At the bottom of the page it says: "If you have any comments about our WEB page" - did you tell/ask them? I wonder what their response would be.

Tom


by Deane,   May 3, 2004 1:12 PM  

I'm just about 150 miles north of Omaha on I-29. It would take a Buffet hit team less than two hours to get here. Someone else do it...


by Joe,   May 3, 2004 1:42 PM  

Given that the shareholders meeting was this weekend, I think Warren is just happy that you didn't show up as the 'buffet' hit team on the catering for his stockholders.


by Deane,   May 3, 2004 1:58 PM  

"buffet"....oh, I get it.

I'm laughing so hard right now that my middle finder is inexplicity stuck in the extended position. And now my chair has spontaneously swiveled to face southwest. I can't explain it...


by Joe,   May 3, 2004 2:12 PM  

Upon further review, that joke sucked. I apologize.


by Qpdaj,   May 5, 2004 8:52 AM  

Looks like one of Warren's kids (grandkids?) is taking their first computer class. "This morning we're going to make a web page!"


by Carl,   May 8, 2004 10:39 PM  

What is Warren Buffet's middle name? What does the E stand for?


by jimmy,   April 17, 2005 1:44 AM  

his middle name is ernest


by guy,   July 13, 2005 12:26 PM  

just a though: what exactly does this company do? I mean, what do they do to get their stock at $84,000?


by Deane,   July 13, 2005 1:56 PM  

Berkshire is a holding company -- it does little more than buy and hold onto other companies:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berkshire_Hathaway

According to the above article at Wikipedia, here are some of the companies that Berkshire owns (wholly or in part):

  • General Re
  • Geico
  • Kansas Bankers Surety Insurance Company
  • National Indemnity Company
  • Wesco Financial Corporation
  • Borsheim's Fine Jewelry
  • Dairy Queen
  • Fruit of the Loom
  • Nebraska Furniture Mart (Berkshire is based out of Omaha, after all)
  • The Pampered Chef
  • See's Candies
  • World Book
  • NetJets

As for the high share price:

Berkshire Hathaway is notable in that it never allows its shares to split. Each share is thus worth tens of thousands of dollars. However, Berkshire Hathaway has created a Class B stock, with a price set to 1/30 of that of the original shares (now Class A) but 1/200 of the per-share voting rights. Holders of Class A stock are allowed to convert their stock to Class B, though not vice versa.


by johnny boy,   August 10, 2009 12:57 PM  

wow... thanks for this blog. i was wondering for the longest time why the wealthiest man in the world had such a shitty website... idk whatever floats ur boat


by Jordan Clark,   October 26, 2009 4:56 PM  

I know, it has to be the shittiest corporate website in the world... but then again, who are we to laugh? A shitty website hasn't done Warren Buffet, or indeed Google, any harm, eh?!


by Jordan Clark,   October 31, 2009 6:33 PM  

P.S. Just to clarify: I'm not calling Google's website(s) "shit" by any means... I'm merely referring to their apparent lack of visual design (a phenomenon Joe Clark dubbed "anti-design").


by Daniel,   November 4, 2009 10:58 PM  

Glad I found you expressing the same concerns, I honestly thought it was a fake website (like an "unofficial" site) for the company.

There must be a Web 2.0 or at least some more modern designed, branded version somewhere?!

Ridiculous. There are so many start-ups and even church garage sales that have better websites than this, it's embarrassing.

Clearly though, it's not affecting profits to the company.



Add Comment


Want to advertise on this site? Contact FM.
Laser Toner Cartridges UK laser toner, toner cartridges, hp toner, lexmark toner, samsung toner, canon, toner, epson toner, oki toner, kyocera toner, xerox toner, remanufactured toner, compatible toner
Direct TV Deals Free 4 room direct tv deals. no equipment to buy. free fast professional direct tv installation. this is the best direct tv deal available anywhere.
SEO Article Learn from the experts with our SEO article.
rope light Shopping with birddog distributing, inc., gives you access to the lowest prices, the best customer service and the quickest delivery times possible.
Laptop AC Adapter We offer genuine factory direct replacement AC adapters.
Direct TV Best satellite TV deals.
Direct TV Deals Direct TV programming deals are varied and include packages containing from 50 channels up to over 250 channels.
8mm film to DVD Retain family memories with the only frame by frame digital restoration service in the United States for your 8mm film to DVD today
Rubber Stamp Shop for custom self-inking stamps, hand stamps, address stamps, label stamps, check endorsement stamps, check deposit stamps, date stamps, pre inks, pocket stamps, ink and much more!